Wellington Cup

The Wellington Cup is a three-club one day regatta usually held in June each year. This year it was held at Guelph Community Boating Club on Sunday June 23rd.

Recent History

In 2019 it was held at GCBC. For results and a write up click HERE.
In 2018 the Wellington Cup was held at CONESTOGO SAILING CLUB on Sunday, July 29th, having been postponed from Sunday July 22nd and originally June 24th both due to the weather. It was to have been at Guelph but instead we participated in Conestogo's Three Arms Race, scheduled for this date. For results and a write up, click HERE.The participating clubs are our own, the Guelph Community Boating Club and the Conestogo Sailing Club. The host club rotates annually - in 2014, BLSC held the event, in 2015 it was Guelph's turn, and in 2016 it was held at Conestogo. A write up and pictures of the 2016 regatta can be found at this link.
Here are the 2017 results. The regatta was held at our club - this year (2019) it will be at Guelph.
Here are the 2016 results.
Here are the 2015 RESULTS and a write up.


Scoring is as per Wellington Cup Deed of Gift (2010)

Individual Trophy

Olympic Low Point system will be used with one point for each position (i.e. 1st = 1, 2nd = 2, etc.) Portsmouth ratings will be used to calculate finishing times so different classes of boats may compete in the same race. The crew of the boat with the lowest overall score will be awarded the trophy. In the event of a tie, Racing Rules A8.1, 8.2 and 8.3 with be invoked to break it.

Team Trophy

Scoring will be a combination of results and number of competitors. A minimum of three boats per club must register for that club to be included in the scoring. If no club has three or more boats registered, the Team Trophy will not be awarded.*** The average score will be calculated for each club by adding the points for each boat and dividing by the number of boats. For each boat participating, one point will be deducted from the overall score. In the event of a tie, the club whose boats beat the greater number of boats from the next closest club would be the winner. If there is still a tie after this, the head to head results of the last race will be used. If still tied, a coin will be flipped to determine a winner!
*** Added May 2017 by BLSC

The history of the Wellington Cup is as follows: (to be added)

The list of winners each year is to be added also.